Archive

Archive for January 11, 2010

Pac-Man in ROME with Smart Car

January 11, 2010 4 comments

Happy New Year to all readers! I first played Pac-Man when I was still in Kinder Garden. I remember I used to play it in a Floppy Disc and the computer which supported the game was the predecessor even before 386, first Intel Pentium 1. Anyway, It was my 1st experience that allowed me to explore my gaming leisure in digital computer.  I experienced Pac-Man in another level of fun during my New Year Holidays.

What was it?

ROME

2 nights before the end of 2009, me and Princess Pipi were traveling in one of the most celebrated street in Rome called Spagna.

The city was decorated with Christmas stuffs and people were preparing to welcome 2010.

We bumped into a Mercedesshow room and saw this sparkling smart car

As we were going to take the picture together with the smart car, a sales guy came to us and say

Do you want to play Pac Man and win a SMART CAR?

Winning a SMART CAR is really tempting!

But I am not a go-go guy,  and initiative enough in participate in all these competition. although I used to participate in some stupid game with Yee Chong before:

But Pipi was so excited.

Pac Man in SMART CAR? Strange….

Generally, this game has to be played by 2 people as a team to compete with other teams from Rome.

One participant has to drive a smart car in Rome street to get 20,000 points at least to get a smart car

while the other participants need to direct the driver in the Mercedes show room by contacting the driver via handphone and a GPS screen to search for the smart car location

Our team was named… FIREMICE ,

the Italian pronounced it as  “FI-RAI-MICE”

GPS screen that locates FireMice in the screen

Pipi was the navigator, she played an important role to direct the smart car, to get as much point as possible, most important of all she had to talk to me in the phone (very very difficult)..

FireMice was the retarded-SMART car driver..

.

So we started! Pipi was shouting non stop

Go GO go! why you not moving yet!!!!

I was like… ok ok ok

It is not easy to drive in Rome since I am a Malaysian (the other participants from Rome), and I have no-sense-of-direction… the driver seat was located at the left side of the car… all the direction was against what I used to drive with… and I AM  RACING IN A COMPETITION!

Pipi:

WOI!!!! Turn right ok!! TURN– TURN !

FireMice:

CANNOT TURN RIGHT OK!!

Drove to a few interesting place that promoted Smart Car to get extra points =)

Pipi:

Drive Faster!

Pipi:

Faster…. We are near to 20,000 points already

FireMice Pac man

At last, we got back more than 30,000 points

.

.

our rank was 2nd among 8 people….

We are proud because we beat most of the others Romans!

but we were disappointed to find out we can only get a mini Smart car

.

.

Little did we find out… Smart car actually was promoting their electric car… a Energy Friendly car

.

.

We got a mini smart CAR!